## SUPREME COURT OF TASMANIA CIRCULAR TO PRACTITIONERS

No. 4 of 2025

## 29 January 2025

## CHURCH SERVICE FOR THE 2025 LAW YEAR FRIDAY, 31 January 2025

#### I. FORM OF SERVICE

There will be an Ecumenical Service at St. David's Cathedral, Murray Street, Hobart at 11.00am on Friday, 31 January 2025.

#### 2. <u>ROUTE OF PROCESSION</u>

The procession will move from the side of Church House (adjacent to St David's Cathedral) at 10.55am and proceed along the footpath of Macquarie Street and enter the Cathedral by the main entrance in Murray Street. In the case of inclement weather, processors should assemble in the Cathedral Cloisters, entry off Macquarie Street.

# 3. **ORDER OF PROCESSION** The Hon Chief Justice Chris Shanahan Judges, Acting Judges and Associate Judge of the Supreme Court Registrar, Deputy Registrar, Assistant Deputy Registrar Supreme Court Associates Magistrates Mr G Melick AO SC, Chief Commissioner, Integrity Commission Mr Malcolm Schyvens, President, TASCAT Mr Richard Grueber, Deputy President, TASCAT Ms Louise Mollross, Deputy President, TASCAT Ms Yvonne Chaperon, Senior Member, TASCAT Mr Rob Winter, Senior Member, TASCAT The Hon Guy Barnett MP, Attorney-General Mr Daryl Coates SC, Director of Public Prosecutions Ms Sarah Kay SC, Solicitor General Ms Pia Saturno, Commissioner, Anti-Discrimination Commission Ms Kristy Bourne, Secretary, Department of Justice Ms Pauline van Adrichem, Deputy Secretary, Department of Justice Ms Chelsea Trubody-Jager, Director, Crown Law Ms Kristen Wylie, Director, Tasmanian Legal Aid Professor Gino Dal Pont, Faculty of Law, University of Tasmania Professor Margaret Otlowski, Faculty of Law, University of Tasmania King's Counsel, Senior Counsel Mr Will Justo, President, Law Society of Tasmania Mr Luke Rheinberger, Executive Director, Law Society of Tasmania Ms Juliana Warner, President, Law Council of Australia Dr James Popple, Chief Executive Officer, Law Council of Australia Ms Francesca Beattie, Deputy Executive Director, Law Society of Tasmania Mr Tom Cox SC, President, Tasmanian Bar Association Ms Emma White, Executive Director for the Centre for Legal Studies Ms Susie Winter, Deputy Director for the Centre for Legal Studies Senior Practitioners Legal practitioners generally Newly admitted practitioners **Tasmanian Legal Practice Course Trainees**

All members of the legal profession are requested to robe. If robing, wigs are to be worn. Decorations and Awards will be worn. Church House in Macquarie Street (adjacent to the Cathedral) is available for robing.

Those in the procession are asked to assemble at the side of Church House, no later than 10.45am ready to move off promptly at 10.55am.

The Registrar will be responsible for ensuring that these arrangements are carried out. There are no parking facilities available in the grounds of the Cathedral.

#### 4. CLERKS, PARTNERS AND FRIENDS

Persons not in the procession will be directed to pews by ushers supplied by the Registry. They should be seated before the procession enters the Cathedral.

#### 5. <u>HER EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR</u>

Her Excellency the Governor and her party will arrive at the Murray Street entrance at 10.59 am and will be met by the Dean and conducted into the Cathedral.

#### 6. <u>SEATING ARRANGEMENTS</u>

These will be in accordance with the attached Appendix.

## 7. DEPARTURE FROM THE CATHEDRAL

Her Excellency and her party will be escorted to the Main Door by the Dean followed by clergy, Chief Justice Shanahan, Judges, Acting Judges, Associate Judge and associates. Otherwise, there will be no retiring procession.

#### 8. SPEAKER TO ADDRESS CONGREGATION

The speaker addressing the congregation is Mr Simon Smart, Executive Director at the Centre for Public Christianity. Mr Smart is a former English and History teacher and has a Masters in Christian Studies from the Regent College in Canada.

P J Ikedife REGISTRAR

# <u>APPENDIX</u> <u>SEATING ARRANGEMENTS - ST DAVID'S CATHEDRAL</u> <u>FRIDAY, 31 JANUARY 2025 AT 11:00am</u>

	<u>N</u> Governor's party		1	Cathedral Use
2 - 3	Chief Justice Shanahan; Judges, Acting Judges and Associate Judge;		2	Attorney-General Amber Mignot Dr Rosalie Woodruff MP
3	Retired/former Judges		3	Judges' spouses
4	Registrar Deputy Registrar Assistant Deputy Registrar		4	Secretary Dept. of Justice Deputy Secretary Dept of Justice Ms Chelsea Trubody-Jager, Director Crown Law Prof Dal Pont, Prof Otlowski
5-6	Associates (Supreme Court and visiting)		5 - 8	King's Counsel/Senior Counsel President, Law Society of Tasmania Executive Director & Deputy Executive Director, Law Society of Tasmania President, Tasmanian Bar Association Ms J Warner, President, Law Counci of Australia Dr J Popple, Chief Executive Officer, Law Council of Australia Executive Director & Deputy Director, Centre for Legal Studies
7 - 10	Magistrates Mr A.G. Melick, AO, SC Chief Commissioner, Integrity Commission Mr M Schyvens, President, TASCAT Mr R Grueber, Deputy President, TASCAT Ms L Molross, Deputy President, TASCAT Ms Yvonne Chaperon, Senior Member, TASCAT Mr Rob Winter, Senior Member, TASCAT Mr D Coates SC, DPP Ms S Kay SC, Solicitor General Ms Pia Saturno, Commissioner, Anti- Discrimination Commission Ms K Wylie, Director, TLA		9 - 10	Senior Practitioners Practitioners in Procession
-  2	JP representatives Senior Practitioners Practitioners in Procession	┤┟	_  2	Newly admitted practitioners

I3 – Practitioners generally, clerks, spousesI5 & friends

13 – Legal Practice Course Trainees Back

I